Excited About Christmas Breakfast/Brunch

Every year I get excited about our Christmas breakfast. I enjoy making it for my family and surprising them with something totally different for breakfast. The house is decorated and looks great, there’s presents under the tree. My wife has Christmas music playing, everything just heightens the excitement for me. In my mind I can already see how the plates will look and how the food will taste. My wife and likely lots of other people think it’s goofy to be so excited about cooking a breakfast. Whether it’s goofy or not it’s part of who I am, Christmas is a very special day. The Christmas “feast” is very important to celebrating the day, I just go a little further and make breakfast just as important. If it’s goofy to be excited about cooking breakfast more power to being goofy. Sometimes goofy can be a good thing.

About Graham Stewart

This is me on a bad day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Excited About Christmas Breakfast/Brunch

  1. :D. Goofy? Xmas breakfast is a treat within treats! A lil sparkle luxury rather like the same thing normally but in bed. I mean them hospitals charge a veritable fortune for such treatment 😉 and with a spotty track record on what you actually get, even 😉 many a season now the breakfasts on Xmas are a brother in law treat as he’s the reigning guy in food or host duties. I’ve came to french toast to stuffed French toast many a joyous time. Country chunk potato’s with just the right garlic. Hashbrowns other time just to be perfect. Mmm. It isn’t the food but the magic of food. Just that joy in achieving breakfast… Participating in the cook cult of the perfect medium fried egg… Not some equivalent to the music worlds I’ve lost hearing to, the Wednesday night guys and this equivalent of some b s steak and shake does it fried Sunny side up blurch drip ooozing egg all over a otherwise good burger now with jelly underdone egg… I mean I’ve tried it … I’m not enthused but then why would I be growing up on medium meat option if not and it is well done…but a medium egg not fully hard yolk but not oozing whites… A mirical of skill required as the timing between yolk turning cooked til fully cooked and not blackening the egg burnt to crap which also can be good for a quickie fried egg sammich is a delight to demonstrate for guests just as it is a treat to and at this altitude it takes 12.18 to cook a hard boiled egg. No green rind. And that be it a half on a salad is or egg salad with the proper best foods/Hellman’s mayonnaise. Duke’s if you’re in the right part of the South (USA’s “deep south” which means if you hit Florida…don’t skip a grouper sammich but you’re too far actually south go north to Georgia they deep south ). But so is how my magic’s have gone in this actual world minus now some book mentions that I will actually breakfast as I get time but I’ve only had as other times save lox and cream cheese or it’s close cousin the smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel. Mmm those. And it wasn’t until flying homewards on a visit I got that decidedly more northern experience northern sea areas USA now. Smoked fish breakfasts…read how drunk bordain would some new York City place sit to the best smoked sturgeon… Closest I ever got was just the raphsodies of a prince Edward or crown prince kippered herring tin… Or a slice/slab of smoked salmon and what the hell eggs. Hey this is rare but I want an actual caper now. This foodie stuff is actually good sometimes! Dream of that but take it to the Sweden with the pancake of at least in the USA is called swedish pancakes is the potato kind but youl see no potato listed in the swedish pancake mix sold at the Sweden place Ikea where you wonder if the cage if open would serve fish cakes and swedish pancakes like out of a pippi long stocking book … Delicately soaking the potato shred in milk… And gloriously frying done… Or if you’d natty bumpit or whatever from Daniel defoes leather sticking tale’s not meet my death from myouth yet found utterly mouthwatering experience in what wasn’t be popular til Ted turner again the bison. But we steer from the breakfast there. Bringing it back is Jacques Pepin on his master skills series… It was a joy listening to a cook demand and evaluate skill yet reasonably unlike the kneejerk expectation of a celebrity devil chef ala Ramsay who is that passionate and fiery but Lord if you can see it as passion you’ll also hopefully see not a bully but eat like heaven came to your plate. And just maybe smile a dark alley to the chef because you “heard” as you compute the tip… But Pepin on show me an egg. Duh a French chef would know of the perfect Parisian omelette. But surpse he’d also evaluate a well executed country as he’d call it omelette. Each of different textures and techniques. And wonder to yourself how close the Japanese omelette a fancy sushi supper time again treat is to a Parisian style egg yet France and Japan just don’t intersect much culinarily. That is here what I read in the passion breakfast coming. I’m in a socks (stockings) mood. No not for a bison slab for breakfast no… But long stockings… I could use a fish cake an egg and a couple medium sized potato pancakes as you bet your boots you can uncap a Thatcher’s cidre and drive nowhere nor get into daytime duds as there’s nothing needing this Xmas day yet needing doing that fluffy jammies can’t handle… Thatcher’s and a crisped outside cake of soft buttery flaky fish in and a creamy scrambled ovation and a crusted out toothy in gently onioned chive say and milk. With uncious umami thick sliced bacon. If you’re states side that is but if cross that pond perhaps a rasher which while I know what it is technically I have yet to have one. But keep that magic if it’s service okay fine or it can highlight the foods be that even a humble tea made “right” call it Russian even if it’s a shop down the streets special.

  2. Sheree says:

    So, what are you cooking?

  3. Don’t burn the eggnog! 🙂

Leave a comment